How are awards judged?

Award entries are vetted and then shortlisted by Central Banking's inhouse editorial team, led by Editor Chris Jeffery.

One winner per category is then selected from the shortlists by an Awards Committee drawn from Central Banking's Editorial Advisory Board and chaired by Chris Jeffery. The make-up of this panel is anonymous and changes from year to year.

For guidance on what the Committee look for in winning entries, please see the criteria for each award and article write-ups for previous winners.

The final decision rests with the Editor.

1) How do I enter?

Entering for a Central Banking Award is straightforward. There are 4 steps:

  1. To enter an award please go to this page:
  2. Here we will ask you for a few details. We use these to create an account for you from which you can add to, or amend, your entry/entries. 
  3. Then select an Award category (there are 20) and then put the name of the person or entity you wish to enter for that award
  4. Please then say why the person or entity you wish to enter should win that Award (up to 500 words). You may attach further material as separate files but this is not a requirement at this stage.


You may amend your entry(ies) at any point up until September 20 2017. For guidance on how to enter, please see "What we're looking for" and read articles on previous winners.


2) What happens next?

After entries close on September 20, the judges will produce a short list. Short listed entries may be asked to provide further references, data and supporting material as part of the judging process. We will contact all those who enter by October 2017.