How to enter

How to enter

How to enter

The Central Banking Awards 2020/2021 are free to enter and are open to all central banks, official institutions, commercial companies and industry associations regardless of size, location or ownership. 

An organisation may enter as many awards categories as they wish, as long as they genuinely believe they meet the criteria for said award (see Categories). The awards are divided into Central Bank and Market Practitioner categories, but entering is not restricted; a market practitioner may enter a central bank for a central bank award and vice versa.

General Entry Information

  • Entry to the Central Banking Awards is free and is online or by direct submission to the editor.
  • Click on Enter Now and register before selecting an award that you wish to enter. 
  • Each entry must be completed in a separate online entry form. If you are entering more than one award category, you will need to complete one online form for each award.
  • The word count for each entry form is restricted to 500 words. You may attach pdfs or other files to your entry but this is not a requirement at this stage. 
  • All details, including those of references, are held in strictest confidence. We can sign NDAs if required.  
  • Entries should describe why the entity/person should win an award for activities during the period September 2019 to September 2020 (with the exception of the Lifetime Achievement and Outstanding Contribution for Capacity Building Awards). There is some leeway for multi-year efforts.
  • For central bank awards, entries can describe activities, policies and initiatives that have improved the effectiveness of the institution, raising its integrity and furthering its public policy goals
  • Entries for market practitioner categories can describe case studies, deals and innovations completed. For example, successful entries have outlined the goal of clients and described how this goal was achieved, including the benefits offered to official institution clients.
  • We are likely to ask for client references for market practitioner awards when we get to the shortlisting phase. This is an important part of the judging process, providing confirmation and feedback. Without these client references, the judges will find it hard to progress entries further. 
  • Please note the quality of your entry (reference clients, general information, lay-out etc.) has a bearing on the outcome of judging for each category. Looking at other Central Banking Awards, it is clear some entrants go to great lengths to provide transparency with regard to their products and the company in general. These entries stand a greater chance of success than those consisting of a "cut-and-paste" from a website or annual report.
  • You may amend your entry(ies) at any point up until October 12, 2020. For guidance on what to submit, please read articles on previous winners. 

To enter you need: 

  • A 500 word statement explaining why the individual/organisation should win the award
  • Details of one contact person within the organisation
  • Details of three client references (market practitioner awards only)

What happens next? 

Short listed entries may be asked for interviews, further references, data and other supporting material as part of the judging process.

Judging is conducted by the Central Banking Awards Committee – comprising members of Central Banking’s editorial staff and the Editorial Advisory Board – chaired by Central Banking’s Editor-in-chief Christopher Jeffery. The Editor’s decision is final.

Winners will be asked to keep the progress of their application private until early 2021 when the awards will be announced online.


Venue to be confirmed

Past winners

Central Banking’s annual flagship awards were first launched in 2014. Take a look at our previous winners page to find out more in depth analysis on our past winners.